1. Welcome to the Recumbent Riders International forums.
    You are currently viewing the discussion boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post and reply to topics, communicate privately with other members, download/upload content and access other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please,
    Join the community today!
    If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Help with deciding which trike to buy

Discussion in 'Recumbent Discussions' started by jakemedic, Feb 15, 2023.  |  Print Topic

1. jakemedic

jakemedic

Region:
    Middle
    State/Country:
    IA
    City:
    Mahaska County
    Ride:
    Cat Trike Villager
    Hello! My name is Jake and this is my first post. I need assistance choosing a trike. I am a retired paramedic and my career choice wasn’t very nice to my body. Unfortunately, my balance, bad knees and back won’t allow me to ride a traditional bicycle. I desperately need to get moving and am planning on purchasing either a new or new to me recumbent trike. I have located two used trikes. The price and models are extremely attractive.

The first is a TerraTrike GTS. It says that it is a 2021 model with minimal use. Priced at 1500.00 it is an attractive choice for a number of reasons. One is the seat height is listed at 15”, which would be good for entry and exit. Secondly, it is equipped fairly well? Lastly, it is priced at less than half the price of new. The one negative is the weight limit. Rated at 280, and I tip the scales at 285.