1. Welcome to the Recumbent Riders International forums.
    You are currently viewing the discussion boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post and reply to topics, communicate privately with other members, download/upload content and access other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please,
    Join the community today!
    If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Knee Surgery

Discussion in 'Health and Safety' started by maxairedale, Mar 10, 2018.  |  Print Topic

1. maxairedale

maxairedale

Region:
    South
    State/Country:
    KY
    City:
    Columbia
    Ride:
    ICE Adventure HD FS
    Name:
    Gary
    As a disclaimer I have been nursing both knees for 48 years or so. Started with high school football in my freshman year and continued with running track a couple years latter. The doctor back then told me “With your knees bicycling is the best thing for them.”

Fast forward:
    It appears that in October of 2017 I tore the medial meniscus in my left knee playing racketball. I laid off the racketball for about 5 weeks and again in December tore it again but this time not just a small tear, but I tore it into it two parts. At least that is when I think it became two parts. At my normal visit to my primary doc in Jan, I told him about the pain and he ran his hand up my knee while applying some pressure. When he hit the right spot I saw stars and about fell out of the chair. A few minutes latter no pain. During my preop visit to the Ortho I asked about what my primary doc had done and the Ortho said that he most likely pushed the meniscus back in place.

As a side note, riding the trike did not cause any pain when the meniscus was out of place, it was twisting knee as when making a quick turn while waking.